Sep 04

Thousands Show Up To Support Local Racing At Dillon Motor Speedway

Dillon, S.C., September 4, 2013: ASA-sanctioned, Dillon Motor Speedway hosted its 3rd annual Fan Appreciation Day on Labor Day thanks to Fred Bowker and Raceway Automotive.

Everyone entered the grandstands this past Labor Day for absolutely free to cheer on the teams of the Late Model, Charger, Street Stock, Pure Stock Four and Mini Cup Stock divisions.

Clint Mills captured his first career victory at the speedway in the first of two, 30-lap Late Model features. Runner-up finisher, Archie Adams Jr. led the first 23 laps, but he just couldn’t hold off the hard charging No. 77 car of Mills. Greg Peterson finished third, followed by Ryan Hall and Marty Griggs. The feature went caution free.

Starting from the eighth position, Greg Peterson fought his way through the pack to pick up the win in the second 30-lap Late Model feature. Peterson was also awarded an extra $700 for completing the promoter’s challenge of starting mid-pack and winning. Archie Adams Jr. came up short again as he crossed the finish line in second. Ryan Hall finished third, and Clint Mills finished fourth after coming back from a crash on the first lap. Shaun Magnum rounded out the top-five.

William Haynie and Jason Calhoun put on a fantastic show for the packed house as they battled side-by-side for 25 laps in the Charger feature. Calhoun went on to win yet another victory this season, and Haynie finished second while being hindered by lapped traffic. Brian Owens finished third, Willie Grangier fourth and Anthony Adams fifth. The feature went caution free.

The Street Stock division was wild and crazy Monday afternoon. Before the first lap was completed, there were two multi-car accidents on the frontstretch. However, once the race got going, Kent Harper checked out to capture the checkered flag. Wayne Locklair finished second with third place finisher Ricky Locklair Jr. right on his back bumper. Tommy Poole finished fourth on his return to the speedway. Ricky Locklair Sr. rounded out the top-five.

Kevin Jackson dominated the Pure Stock Four feature to win his first race at the speedway this season. Captain Morgan finished second, followed by Bobby Tumbleston, Kayla Dean and Josh Dean.

Steve Chauncey won the Mini Cup Stock main event on Monday afternoon. William Chalin had a great performance as he crossed the line in second. John Sofield finished third, while Chris Connor and Anthony Bryant finished fourth and fifth respectively. Richard Medlin won his first event at the speedway in the Mini Cup Stock dash race.

ASA-sanctioned, Dillon Motor Speedway is off this upcoming weekend but will be back in action on September 14 for the Championship Night 300 when the speedway will crown the 2013 Late Model track champion. Divisions that will be racing include the Late Models, Super Trucks, Chargers, Carolina Vintage, Mini Cup Stocks and the Pure Stock Fours.

For more information, please visit www.DillonMotorSpeedway.com. Follow Dillon Motor Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter, @DillonSpeedway. You may also call the race hotline at 843.496.4790.

Print Friendly

About the author


Please Leave a Comment

Weather forecast by WP Wunderground & Denver Snow Removal